Republicans score shock win over Western

Bombay Republicans produced a solid fighting performance to record and stunning 3-2 victory against former champions Western Railway in a Super Division match of the MHAL League 2017-2018, at the MHAL-Mahindra Stadium, Churchgate on Wednesday.

The Republicans side were an impressive lot and did well to match the more experienced Railwaymen throughout the match before snatch a late winner to emerge victorious.

Republicans took the lead through consistent scorer Darshan Gawkar in the 23rd minute, but Western made a strong reply with skipper Jay Karan scoring twice in quick succession in the 24th and 26th minute to put his team in the lead.

Showing plenty of grit and determination Republicans came back and Devinder Walmiki from fine efforts scored two goals in the 33rd minute and 68th minute to secure a deserving victory for Republicans.

Earlier, Indian Navy capitalised on the chances that came their way to defeat an uncharacteristic Central Railway 3-2. The Navy outfit scored their goals through Prateek Singh (17th min), Jugraj Singh (60th min) and Amit Goswami (67th min), while  Central Railway got the goals through Rajendra Pawar (31st min) and Vishal Pillay (68th min).

Republicans midfielder Raja Paramasiuam and Indian Navy’s goalkeeper R. Tidu were declared as the winners of the ‘Man of the Match’ award from their respective matches and both received a cash award of Rs 1,000 each.

On Thursday, Maharashtra State Police clash with Union Bank of India at 4.00pm.

Results: Indian Navy 3 (Prateek Singh17th, Jugraj Singh 60th, Amit Goswami 67th) beat Central Railway 2 (Rajendra Pawar 31st, Vishal Pillay 68th). MoM: R. Tidu (Indian Navy – goalkeeper).

Bombay Republicans 3 (Darshan Gawkar 23rd, Devinder Walmiki 33rd, 68th) beat Western Railway  2 (Jay Karan 24th, 26th). MoM: Raja Paramasiuam (Bombay Republicans).